Message sent from:
Early YearsOverview 1(3)Overview Reception

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth until the end of the Reception year.

This aims to provide a principled, play based approach to learning and development that ensures that each child can reach their full potential. Young children learn best through play, and our staff wil be able to provide a rich and engaging environment with appropriate learning opportunities. This curriculum allows us to develop an understanding of your child's strengths and areas of support.

To ensure that your child is feeling safe and secure, we have staff members who get to know you and your child and build a positive relationship with you as a family too.

Learning is seperated into 7 areas. 3 of these are particularly important for igniting children's enthusiasm for learning. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The other four areas are through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected - many activities will, as a result, cover many of the areas. These are seperated into development stages which are used to identify the resources and learning opportunities for individual children dependant on what they need.

Hit enter to search